Universal Heart

–by Linda Commito (Feb 24, 2012)

We are not alone. We are interconnected. We just happen to be living in separate bodies. We’re united in a way that has nothing to do with the blood that runs through our veins, but rather the life energy that is within each of us. We’re learning that turning away from our fellow human beings is like turning away from ourselves.

I admit that there have been times when I’d thought about opting out –going to a place where I could live a simple, stress-free life. Once, while at a small dinner party, I asked my fellow dinners, “Where would you go to get away from the chaos?” One man looked at me and simply pointed to his heart. He reminded me where I need to live to feel safe, connected, and at peace. 

Whenever I feel a sense of belonging, either to people I love or as part of a community, I am happier, more hopeful, and without fear. Once I had the privilege of seeing the Dalai Lama “with 5,000 of my closest friends.” Normally wary of being in a large crowd, I felt such a sense of connection and well-being.

Why does it take a crisis or a natural disaster to remind us of the oneness of which we are all a part?[…]

We create a currency of love when we consciously cultivate that feeling of belonging every day. We embrace our oneness when we notice and include everyone everywhere, when we let go of the judgements and criticisms that make others feel isolated, and when we celebrate our differences, as well as our commonality. It starts with a journey to our own heart, from which we can begin to experience a universal heart connection to all beings.

— Linda Commito in Love is a New Currency: Creating a New Measure of Wealth

About Pancho

To live in radical joyous shared servanthood to unify humanity.
This entry was posted in WednesdaysOnFridays and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

