Cultivando un pueblo/Growing a Village

por Brenda Salgado [English Below]

Estoy buscando a mi gente. Estoy buscando para cultivar un pueblo. Ante la crisis ecológica que conduce a la extinción masiva.

     …. Y….

El potencial de esto es ser nuestra iniciación en un mundo más bello. Estoy buscando personas que sostengan estas dos realidades aparentemente opuestas y acepten que el futuro está en manos del Misterio. La gente que sabe que la única forma posible de vivir una Nueva Historia es permitir que el Misterio nos guíe.

Hace varios años comencé una comunidad llamada WisdomWomen. Estaba destinado a unir a las mujeres para que pudiéramos participar en el nacimiento de modelos sociales y sistémicos que honran a toda la vida. . El proceso se convirtió gradualmente en una emergencia colectiva: Dar espacio a la sabiduría del grupo y lo desconocido para que guíen nuestras reuniones.

Al principio tenía muchas esperanzas y expectativas para WisdomWomen, muchas de las cuales se derivaban de mis deseos de ser reconocida y de tener un estilo de vida próspero haciendo un trabajo significativo. En múltiples encrucijadas, se me dio la opción de hacer que WisdomWomen atendiera mis antiguas necesidades, o rendirme a un proceso misterioso que me cambiaría a mí y a mi forma de vivir.

En el camino, renuncié a las codiciadas posiciones de carrera. Rechacé ofertas de trabajo lucrativas. Corté los lazos con personas y organizaciones “poderosas”. Renuncié a mi casa y la mayoría de mis posesiones. Utilizé mis ahorros. Perdí muchas relaciones. Puse mi matrimonio en peligro. Pasé de sentirme en la cima de mi carrera a un sentimiento prolongado de no saber lo que estaba haciendo. Dejé de usar tácticas de mercadoctenia y negocios para aumentar mi audiencia. Dejé que mi comunidad encogiera en vez de agrandarce. Entré únicamente en la economía del regalo, confiando en la sincronicidad y en el apoyo de otros que creyeron en mí para continuar mi camino.

Todavía sigo desaprendiendo y sigo evolucionando. Pero, después de haber desarrollado una confianza profunda en mí misma y en la vida misma, al final he ganado mucho más de lo que perdí .

El año pasado quedó claro que era hora de entrar en un proceso de metamorfosis y cierre de Sabiduría. Tuvimos una reunión final en febrero llamada “Creando una verdadera comunidad”.

Esta reunión, que incluyó hombres, reforzó lo que las experiencias anteriores me enseñaron: necesitamos sanar nuestras relaciones culturalmente distorsionadas con el dinero y la sexualidad. Necesitamos permitir que la energía que afirma la vida de Eros sea una guía esencial en el proceso de dar a luz nuevas posibilidades. Y debemos incorporar un nuevo modelo económico que fomente la interdependencia. Estas son las bases para practicar profundamente el escuchar a lo sagrad@, para construir una verdadera cooperación y para expandir nuestras capacidades de nueva creatividad.

He tenido un sueño en mi corazón durante mucho tiempo de hacer crecer una aldea que forma parte de una red global, en la que vivimos en conexión profunda con la Tierra y entre nosotr@s mediante la práctica de una vida regenerativa y una verdadera asociación en una economía colaborativa.

Todos queremos vivir bien en este hermoso planeta, pero en este momento estamos llamados a crear una realidad en la que todos los seres vivan bien, o potencialmente ningún@. Al hacerlo, creo que descubriremos que nuestras ideas actuales de vivir bien son muy limitadas y que quizás valga la pena dejar de lado las formas de vida que intentamos proteger tan desesperadamente.

Sé que hay otros que están en un camino similar, y aquellos que están llamados a algo de su esencia. Si lo que comparto te habla, lo invito a que se una a mí en esta próxima fase de emergencia colectiva. Quizás esta invitación genere una intuición, un anhelo, una curiosidad o un deseo de aliados.

Párrafo extraído de Growing Village

Growing a Village

I am looking for my people.
            I am looking to grow a village.
 
As we face ecological crisis leading towards mass extinction
            AND
the potential of this being our initiation into a more beautiful world – I am looking for people who hold these two seemingly opposite realities and accept that the future is in the hands of the Mystery. People who know that the only possible way to live into a New Story is by allowing the Mystery to guide us.
 
Several years ago I started a community called WisdomWomen. It was intended to bring women together so that we could take part in birthing societal and systemic models that honor all of life. The process gradually became about collective emergence: allowing the group wisdom and the Unknown to guide our time together.

 I originally had a lot of hopes and expectations for WisdomWomen, many of which stemmed from my desires to be recognized and to have a prosperous lifestyle doing meaningful work. At multiple crossroads, I was given the option to make WisdomWomen serve my perceived needs, or to surrender to a mysterious process that would change me and my ways of life.
 
Along the way, I gave up coveted career positions. I declined lucrative job offers. I severed ties from ‘powerful’ people and organizations. I gave up my home and most of my possessions. I went through my savings. I lost many relationships. I put my marriage on the line. I went from feeling at the top of my career game to an extended feeling of not knowing what I was doing. I stopped using marketing tactics and business models to grow my audience. I let my community become smaller instead of bigger. I entered purely into the gift economy – relying on synchronicity and the support of others who believed in me to continue my path.
 
I am still unlearning and still becoming. But, after having developed a deeper trust in myself and in Life itself, I have ultimately gained so much more than I lost.

Last year it became clear that it was time to go into a process of metamorphoses and close WisdomWomen. We held a final gathering in February called ‘Creating True Community’.

This gathering, which included men, reinforced what previous experiences taught me- we need to heal our culturally distorted relationships with money and sexuality. We need to allow the life-affirming energy of Eros to be an essential guide in the process of birthing new possibilities. And, we need to embody a new economic model that fosters interdependence. These are foundations for practicing deep, sacred listening, for building a true partnership, and for expanding our capacities to embody creative life force.

I have held a dream in my heart for a long time of growing a land-based village that is part of a global network, where we live in deep connection with the Earth and one another by practicing regenerative living and true partnership in a sharing economy.

We all want to live well on this beautiful planet, but at this point in time we are being called upon to create a reality where all beings live well, or potentially none will. In doing so, I believe we will discover that our current ideas of living well are immensely limited and that perhaps the ways of life we try so desperately to protect are worth letting go.

I know there are others who are on a similar path, and those who are called to something of its essence. If what I share speaks to you, I invite you to join me in this next phase of collective emergence. Perhaps this invitation sparks an intuition, a longing, a curiosity, or a desire for allies.

Excerpt taken from Growing Village

By Brenda Salgado: Healer, Social Justice & Spiritual Activist

About awakinOAK

Intentionally located in east Oakland -- to, on the one hand, overcome institutionalized violence and on the other hand, be showered by the multicultural love and wisdom from neighbors-- this small community strives for integral nonviolence and supports activities that foster fearlessness, courage, autonomy, unconditional love and compassion for all beings. Every Friday for the last 10 years, the anchors of Awakin Oakland, host "Wednesdays on Fridays", an open-house meditation night that was inspired by a family in Santa Clara who has been doing this for close to 23 years [2020] No teachers or gurus. No set agendas or proposed beliefs either. Just one strong principle -- when you change within, the world changes
This entry was posted in Awakin Oakland, fearlessness, gift-economy, WednesdaysOnFridays and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment