Canto de Libertad / Chant of Freedom

–por Banira Giri  (Mayo 15, 2015)

Libérame templo
del sonido de la campana y de la concha

Libérame cielo
de la electricidad del rayo

Libérame árbol
de las ramas retorcidas

Libérame palma
De las enredadas líneas del destino

Libérame calle
De la pesada caída de los pasos

Libérame amor
De la necesidad de copular

Libérame río
de la fuerza y los sonidos

Libérame sonido
de la inútil murmuración

Libérame guerra
De los reclamos del machismo

Libérame paz
del sacrificio necesario

Libérame whisky
de las espinas de la irritación

Libérame propiedad
del tesoro de las parejas sin hijos

Libérame día
del galope del sol

Libérame noche
de los ojos del búho

Libérame pueblo
de las estatuas del tirano

Libérame mundo
de las estacas envenenadas de las fronteras

Libérame vida
de siempre estar de prisa

Libérame muerte
del vacío sin fin

Libérame mi querido poema
de las letras sin sentido

Oye,
palabra que llaman
libertad,
libérame de la honestidad
y de las palabras y significados
de tus letras

— Banira Giri, Jeevan Thayamaru (Vida: Sin Lugar), Kathmandu, 1978
Traducción: León Blanco

____________________________
Chant of Freedom

Temple free me
from the sounds of bell and conch

Sky free me
from electric bolts

Tree free me
from bent and curving branches

Palm free me
from fate’s tangled lines

Street free me
from footsteps’ heavy fall

Love free me
from the urge for sex

River free me
from force and sounds

Sound free me
from needless susurration

War free me
from machismo’s claims

Peace free me
from necessary sacrifice

Whiskey free me
from nettled irritation

Property free me
from a childless couple’s store of treasure

Day free me
from the sun’s hoofed gallop

Night free me
from the owl’s eyes

Nation free me
from the tyrant’s statues

World free me
from the poison tipped stakes of your borders

Life free me
from always hastening

Death free me
from never-ending emptiness

My cherished poem free me
from meaningless letters

Hey,
word that goes by the name
freedom
free me from the honesty
and depths of your letters, words
and meanings

— Banira Giri, Jeevan Thayamaru (Life: No Place), Kathmandu, 1978
Translation: Wayne Amtzis and Banira Giri

This entry was posted in ARTivism, Awakin Oakland, poetry, WednesdaysOnFridays and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

